Dancing With the Stars, Season 13, Week 8

I’ll actually be blogging about the semi-finals next week over on my sister’s blog, http://anibundel.wordpress.com/, as she had surgery today to remove a cyst and will not be blogging herself for the next week.  Hopefully I’ll find something worth speaking of.

Because on top of everything else, too few of the dances themselves have been especially sticking in my mind the way so many of them did last season.  But this week, I found a rescue in a place I least expected it: the instant dances.  Granted, Nancy Grace wasn’t able to adapt in time, the Kardashian paid for getting to dance to A-Ha’s “Take on Me” for his quickstep(and anyone who gets such a privilege IMHO really should make more of it) by having to dance a jive to the WTF music choice(Hall & Oates’ “Maneater”?  Really?) and Cheryl couldn’t manage anything with it on such short notice.  But then there’s the other one I wasn’t looking forward too that much after the music was drawn out of the mirror ball.  I’m wary of Avril Lavigne at the best of times, Hope hadn’t exactly done well when she’d last had to jive to her music, and I’d only listened through “The Best Damn Thing” a couple of times, but it was enough to be none too impressed by it.

And then this happened:

Though I admit, it was a little weird when they kept going like that after the music ended. And to cap the whole thing off with Len suddenly stealing Bruno’s role; priceless in any circumstances, even more so after the drama of the last couple of weeks.
And of course JR Monday night could do no wrong. Noone had really been “on” like that this season before this week. And Derek Hough and partner were good, but we knew that already.
With the improvement of Hope and the departure of Nancy, there is now noone who could not theoretically take the title. Though in practice, I still think it’s going to Derek.