Only a week to Worlds already?

Since suspending my news broadcasts I’ve lost all track of time.  But now we’re at risk for losing Nathalie & Fabian, and have lost our last Finn(so now even if Laura Lepisto does come back, how far can she make it?), and perhaps I should try some predictions:

Men:  Or, who gets the bronze?  I’ve decided to go with what I want to happen there, my predictions for the podium: Patrick Chan, Daisuke Takahashi, Jeremy Abbott.  Also looking forward to: holding up hope Adam lands the quad lutz.  Though I’ll settle for them getting that third spot back.

Ladies: So having predicted Jeremy to make the podium, do I dare predict Ashley?  But actually, I’m going to be daring and predict Carolina drives everyone crazy by winning more or less fair and square, but I don’t dare put Mao any lower than 2nd, so who does that leave for bronze?  After Challenge Cup I’m wary of predicting Alissa, so it’s Ashley, Leonova, or one of the two Japanese girls.  Murakami might not be ready just yet, and Leonova’s still a mite unpredictable, but the kind of year Suzuki’s having, I think she’ll take the edge, so: Carolina Kostner, Mao Asada, Akiko Suzuki.  If Ashley gets stuck in 4th, hopefully Alissa will make the top 9.  Also looking forward to: is there even a slight chance Ksenia proves everyone wrong?  It’s probably her last chance…

Pairs:  And the questions for both the couples competitions are which order the top two finish in, and then who wins the bronze.  I suspect Volosozhar & Trankov are more likely to finally pass Savchenko & Szolkowy next year than this one, and the Germans have such a glorious free skate this year this ought to be their fourth title.  Bronze is a thorny question indeed, but Duhamel & Radford’s jumps, sadly, are too unreliable, and for some reason I suspect neither Pang & Tong or Kavaguti & Smirnov will be up to it, so it’s Sui & Han by default: Savchenko & Szolkowy, Volosozhar & Trankov, Sui & Han.  Also looking forward to: hope Duhamel & Radford skate that long program well, though.

Ice Dance: And even if they make it, Nathalie Pechelat & Fabian Bourzat may be vulnerable, but it would be too depressing to predict a second disappointment in a row for them.  As for those two above them, after Four Continents, I have the general feeling Meryl & Charlie have had their Worlds on top, and cede it now.  Hey, they had it, and that’s the important part, right?  Virtue-Moir, Davis-White, Pechelat-Bourzat.  Also looking forward to: the other two Canadian teams!  I suppose if Weaver & Poje did take the bronze, I wouldn’t mind that much.

Leave a Reply

