Eurovision 2013

Eurovision needs to make sure they get their stream running when the show starts. This year they didn’t until near the very end of the results and I ended up watching almost everything on an Irish TV stream(where in place of the home nation’s phone number instead of all caps reminders not to vote for your own country, like they do in Britain, they just had GOOD LUCK, IRELAND, since they trust their viewers to have some intelligence. A pity they did not have good luck, though).

On the other hand, I did have the Eurovision app on my iPad this year, which proved most useful in having a copy of the lyrics, and especially an English translation of them handy. That probably led to my favorite song of the night being the Greek one, since it meant I knew what the lyrics meant and could thoroughly enjoy the song as an Age of Sail fandom alumnus:

Greece should always send songs with groups of guys dancing. They do them very well.
Though it worked better with songs in languages I sort-of knew than in languages I didn’t know at all; I especially had trouble keeping track of where in the lyrics Eythor Ingi from Iceland was. Which was really too bad, since in terms of pure singing he might have been the best of the night(nice and easy on the eyes too).
Had been warned beforehand it was a weak year, but there were no songs I actively disliked either, even if one or two(Malta!) made me smile in spite of myself. Though I felt sad for Bonnie Tyler, giving her all but her voice isn’t up to it anymore. Generally meh on the results, especially how high Azerbaijan & the Ukraine finished, but it could’ve been worse; Denmark’s song was another one of those generally pleasing ones.
I would’ve minded less is Sweden had repeated though. Not just because I liked their song, though I did think it a fairly good one, but because this is the most fun I’ve had watching the Eurovision ceremony itself. The hostess was funny, the interval act was funnier, and we were also reminded that it’s nice being in a progressive country where noone’s being oppressed, a luxury the contest hasn’t always had in recent years.  Makes one especially glad we’ll be in Copenhagen next year.

Leave a Reply

