Rostelecom Cup Predictions

Actually wasn’t sure I’d get an opportunity to post today, but I’ve got a couple of hours free, so here goes nothing:

Men: And with Plushenko still ailing, I’d say Kovtun has a leg up, and I’m going to think he edges this one out.  But I don’t think Fernandez is going to collapse two events in a row at this point, and I don’t think Machida will collapse either, so I’m going with Kovtun, Fernandez, Machida.  I’d love it if Menshov medaled instead, but I don’t think that’s going to happen.

Ladies: The way Lipnitskaia is going I think she’s going to edge out Kostner for this one.  More torn about whether Liza T or Murakami will take the bronze, but the latter seems to be doing better than the former for a while not, so Lipnitskaia, Kostner, Murakami.  But all I really want now is more Mirai to do better than she’s been doing.  She doesn’t even have to medal, just not finish so low anymore.

Pairs: Pretty sure this one is going Savchenko & Szolkowy, Moore-Towers & Moscovitch, Bazarova & Larionov.  Curious, though, to see if Takahashi & Kihara can rebound from Nebelhorn as Estonia’s citizenship decisions get them into the Games after all.

Ice Dance: If this wasn’t Russian ice, I might think Weaver & Pojé could pull the win off, but on it that might be too much to ask.  So that’s Bobrova & Soloviev, Weaver & Pojé, Chock & Bates.  I hope it’s close, though.

Leave a Reply

