Tomorrow We Go to Boston

More reminiscing for me: 2003 was also the first time I watched ice dance for the first time, and I was easily drawn in by the combination of Naomi Lang & Peter Tchernyshev dancing to the Scorpions, Tanith Belbin & Benjamin Agosto skating to Elvis, and Melissa Gregory & Denis Petukhov skating to Craig Armstrong(sadly, I have never since been able to find clips of the 2003 Nationals ice dance competition that weren’t very poor quality). But then when I didn’t get around to watching again for three years, by the time the 2006 Olympics rolled around and I decided to watch when I saw the times for the ice dance competition I was right there, the memory of those three programs strong in my head, but I had forgotten the names of the dancers involved. It seems strange now that when I saw the NBC hype for Tanith & Ben I didn’t make the connection back to Elvis, but for whatever reason I didn’t, and I even got annoyed and thought NBC was making too much fuss about them. Then they came out with this program at the end of a wild and crazy night of Latin dancing and won me over again:

The next night my roommate and I were back to watch the free dance, and it all started with my first introduction to Nathalie Pechalat & Fabian Bourzat, and her first introduction to Les Miserables; I ended up singing the English lyrics for her benefit while the French team performed. Not that I minded, I thought a French version was very appropriate. And while I have seen countless Les Miserables programs since(especially this year!), I don’t think I’ve liked any quite as much as this one:

Leave a Reply

