Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Post Season 1 Thoughts: Phil Coulson

And my vidding technical difficulties run a little deeper than I anticipated, and now I suspect it may be a bit of time before any more vids at all(as always, I am open to any suggestions of new vidding software that work on Windows.  Or iPad).  So meanwhile, I am going to do some analyses of where the various characters of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. stand, because I have Lots of Thoughts on this.

Starting with the guy who’s the center of this series, and season one has become the story of his journey from dead to head of the organization(or what’s left of it).  Except he’s still a little funny in the head…

Let’s take a moment to think about that.  This guy who was invented as convenient linkage for the movies now heads S.H.I.E.L.D.  Certainly he’s earned his new position.  He was the loyal man who who kept faith in the idea of S.H.I.E.L.D. even when he learned how badly the company had strayed on multiple levels(I would like someone to write an AU where Victoria Hand lives and becomes director though).

But there’s a question of how good he’ll be at it.  It’s a new challenge for him, certainly, and who does he have to look to?  Hopefully rescuing those soldiers and generals will get the organization off the government’s terrorist list, but what then?  And if he starts torturing Ward, that’s one huge mistake, both morally and practically(he’ll get better information if he sets a smart psychologist on him before sending in the interrogators).  The first half of the next season may include some stumbles(and then we take a break to see Peggy Carter going through a similar journey), but one thing I do have faith in is he’ll learn from his mistakes and manage it in the end.

As for his other plot, well, to some extent I’m tempted to hold off until Guardians of the Galaxy to start forming theories, just in case that movie provides any clues(if those drawings show up in the trailer that’s about to be released I am going to laugh).  Since this is the first sign we’ve seen of weird mental side-effects when it’s been nearly two years since his stay in T.A.H.I.T.I., this looks like a slow-developing plot, maybe one that comes to a head more in the second half of the season than the first.

Hopefully the producers keep this his story at heart.  He was pretty much the best part of the first season, after all.

Leave a Reply

