A Little More Pleased Now

I hope the creators of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. know that killing Lucy Lawless off the way they did will go down on their permanent record, and it will also go down there if at least one of Triplett or Mack isn’t alive when the credits for Age of Ultron roll.  But I have to admit, these past two episodes, they really have been working overtime trying to make up for that.

I was honestly surprised when it turned out Simmons was just acting at a double agent; I didn’t think the writers would let her off that easy.  But it’s a good turn for her; it allows her to develop as a character, get a lot stronger and impressive by doing something that is definitely not in her nature or training, and have a great story arc of her own.  Though it appears from the promo that next week that particular arc will end, but she’ll come out of it having had all that.  I’ll also be very interested in how involved she’ll be in her rescue; I don’t think she’s ready to escape all on her own just yet, but I’ll be surprised if she’s a passive rescuee.  Though that may take a dark turn, too, if she has to kill anyone, or do anything else it might be hard for her to live with afterwards.  Something for her and Skye to commemorate about; I think we might see that friendship deepen.

Especially since I think we’re definitely in for some rockiness in the Fitzsimmons relationship.  His saying in this episode that she left for the reasons she did even when he knows she’s undercover indicates he believes her to be running away from him when she accepted the assignment, and I’m actually not sure he isn’t right either.  And they’ve both changed a lot, and neither is going to find the person they knew before.  We have to hold out hope they can reestablish a connection as they are now.  Not that I mind seeing Fitz connect with Lance and Mack, as he regains his confidence.  That might be a truly inspiring story S.H.I.E.L.D.’s got going on, especially since we still don’t see that many people with disabilities on TV, and especially not people with psychiatric disabilities that are nonetheless trying to function and lead healthy lives.

But after this week’s episode, I find myself thinking most about Melinda May.  I’ve been concerned beforehand about where her character goes from here, but Tuesday raised a very intriguing possibility indeed.  After the reaction TPTB of the Marvel Movieverse got to killing Coulson off once, I don’t think they’d actually go that far again, except *possibly* in the a TV series finale, but I think they might put in him stasis or something like that for a few episodes, before someone finds a cure from the T.A.H.I.T.I. side-effects.  Maybe for the season finale, or mid-season finale.  And then the central story has to become May adapting a role I don’t think she ever saw herself taking, at least not on this high a scale.

On one hand, it would be symbolically appropriate for Melinda May to become director of S.H.I.E.L.D.  The organization is supposed to be about protecting people, after all, and for the past year that’s what May’s purpose in life has been all about, whether those people be Coulson, or her colleagues whose backs she’s been watching(I suspect she’s grown very protective of Skye too; and once her father really starts threatening her sooner or later he’ll find that out the hard way).  On the other, while I wouldn’t assume she’s never been the one in charge and making the hard decisions, and I don’t doubt her ability to make them, I suspect having to make them nonstop every day will take much more of an emotional toll on her than anything has since Bahrain, especially if she even thinks she’s just killed Coulson(since they might try to pull that off somehow).

At least they had fun with her in this episode, especially early in it, though the sexualization of her fighting was annoying(was that panning over her unconscious in her underwear really necessary?  And why was it so fancy anyway; it’s not like she expected anyone to see it).  I suspect we will all be rewatching that tango sequence a good deal.

Leave a Reply

